Query Letters Submitted

So I’ve submitted my query letter to a few agents. This is in reference to my young adult story I’ve talked about in a couple of past posts.

I texted my fiancé this morning saying how I’m 43% “I’ve got this; it’s in the bag.” and 57% “This is hell; how am I ever going to make it?” I already screwed up on a couple of the queries I sent. One of them I forget to fill in the name. I literally sent the email off and it read as this “Dear ,” That’s it. I am so embarrassed.  I also sent a few queries with the end line “Attached are the fifty pages.” Like guuuuurl get it together!

Thankfully, the two queries that really mattered were flawless. I have two agencies I personally think would be a great fit for me and I made sure my queries were on point before they were sent off.

Right now I’m standing on the fence, teetering between unbridled confidence and a major freak out. I believe so strongly in the signs I received that I’m like “How could I not get a request for manuscript?” Also, I personally believe my query was pretty kick ass. It was concise, straight to the point and left the main conflict unknown. I can’t help but think If this query letter doesn’t do it, I honestly don’t know what will.

My body is vibrating with energy right now. I’ll forewarn you, I’m a very spiritual person.  I don’t consider myself to be a full-fledged hippie. I don’t eat green, I can be a little rigid/set in my ways, a little too logical and I’m not always “feel the love all around us”. But I’m totally into peoples and the universe’s energy, healing properties of crystals, communicating with beyond our realm type stuff.

ANYWAY, I’ve been heavily communicating with my spirit guides during this query writing process. Anytime I went to edit the query, I made sure to channel them. And now that I’ve started querying agents, my body is buzzing with their excitement and energy. I feel like I’m going to burst.

I sound like a crazy person, trust me, I know. But I really feel like I got this. I’ve been praying a lot, communicating with my guides, channeling their energy and information. I truly believe this is going to work. I’m going to achieve my goal of becoming a published author.

It would be awful if in 2-3 months I look back on this after receiving all rejections. I’ll be so mad at myself for being naïve and foolish. But I can’t think like that right now. I’ve got to stay positive; you receive what you put out, right? I’m doing everything I can possibly think of to manifest my destiny. I swear I will be so devastated if not a single agent asks for even a partial manuscript. Can’t even think about that right now!

My brain is all over the place. I’m trying to work but all I can think about are these query letters and my excitement of the possibility my dream can come true. My query letter was pretty flippin’ good. We’ll just have to wait and see what the agents think.

Hopefully I’ll have good news to share with everyone. Thank you for reading!

(sorry this posting is all over the place!)

— Alessandra

4 thoughts on “Query Letters Submitted

  1. Hope turns to courage when we fail – at least that’s what I told myself when all my queries to literary agents for my YA Urban fantasy novel were ultimately rejected!

    Good luck! Gosh I really hope you make it, it would be so nice to read a success story here 🙂

    Like

    1. Thank you! I’ve already received one rejection :/ but I’m holding my head high. I figure I’ll receive a few more before I get that “Yes.” That’s what I’m hoping for anyway.

      Good luck to you too! I hope you’re still querying; it’s a long road but worth it in the end. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. And all you need is that one ‘Yes’ to get you through the door! I read somewhere that you might have to go through 70 – 100 rejections before you find a traditional publisher/editor/agent. Gawd – such high numbers! I’ve only been through say about 20-30 rejections so far. Although, I have read success stories where a writer found an agent or publisher almost immediately! So you just never know 🙂 It’s that hope that we will be the one that makes it that gets us through…

        Yes I’m still querying – I have a few traditional publishers to try first before I turn to self-publishing. I’m also querying some agents for my latest novel (New Adult Thriller) – and if all else fails I can always self-publish that one too!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. So very true! Just one yes can get you through that door and on your way! I hope my motivation sticks with me to see that day happen.

        I’m glad to hear you’re still querying! Good luck with it! And if you turn to self publishing, I wish you all the best (and popularity :P) I know writing isn’t about popularity, but it is nice to have that support. Makes you feel validated for all that blood, sweat and tears. I hope you get your yes! 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

