Almost Halfway Finished!

As of last night, my novel is 29,000 words. That means I’m 6,000 words away from being halfway finished! That’s awesome because I literally started writing this story June 21st and it has been 1 week + 2 days and I’m already almost halfway done. !!! I can definitely write this novel by July 27th. If I keep writing at my current rate, I’ll finish it before July 27th and have ample time to edit/rewrite/rework the plot.

I am super-duper excited!! I feel like a child on a sugar high right now. That may also be because it’s the Friday before July 4th and I’m going on vacation all next week. It’s a mixture of a lot of good things! 🙂  So happy~

Right now I would like to take this time to self-compliment me. So narcissistic : P. But I do believe people don’t give themselves enough praise/credit. If you’re one of those people, you should work on complimenting yourself more! It creates a lot of self-confidence and makes you the person in charge of validating yourself instead of seeking it from others.

Anyway, I’m really proud of myself for diligently sticking to my schedule. That’s one of my biggest issues. I’m a procrastinator; even when I was in school/college. I waited until the very last minute to write papers or study. My grades never suffered so I didn’t see a reason to change my ways. I’ve tried to change the way I time managed but I’ve always had such little motivation to make it happen. At the root of my thoughts was why? Logically there was no real reason to change my ways. So I’d always put things off or flat out not do them.

That’s why I’m so flippin’ proud of myself right now. It’s not even technically July yet and I’m nearly halfway finished with my novel. This is spectacular. At this point I don’t even care if the book goes nowhere. I’m just glad to prove to myself I can force myself to sit down and stick to a schedule. I’ve been religiously busting out 3,000 words a day for the past week and two days. Last night I had a volleyball game; I had to leave the house at 7:30PM. I got home around 5:45PM. I wrote 2,000 words before leaving, came home around 9:15PM, took a shower and busted out another 1,000 words before bed. Hoo. Zah. I was worried I wouldn’t have the time/motivation to write 3,000 words yesterday but I surprised myself with 4,000 words.

That’s what I love about writing. If inspiration hits you, you can’t stop.  The words, the story, the flow… it all comes right out of you. It’s almost like you’re obligated to keep writing until you’ve lost every ounce of inspiration. I love that. I don’t have that with anything else in my life. Only with writing. It’s the best feeling in the world. I love being so consumed with an idea that I can’t do anything else until I’ve written down the first couple of chapters; that every waking moment I’m thinking about the characters, thinking of epic fighting scenes or pivotal relationship scenes that change the tone of the story. It’s fantastic and addicting.

Writing, to me, is a drug. I get so much reward out of it. Even when I write stories that I don’t share with anyone else. That’s because writing is a challenge. You have to create everything from the ground up. Create a whole new world. Create characters with enough depth and persona they come alive off the pages. Create fluid words that ebb and flow naturally that it doesn’t feel like you’re reading. My brain thrives on challenges which is why writing is so wonderful for me.

Okay enough gushing about my love of writing. This started out as a “Wahoo almost halfway done!” and turned into “Writing is the love of my life!” little rant. Man, some of you must wonder what my stories are like if I can’t even stay on point in a blog. Ha ha.

I’ve got to get to work now. It’s nearly 8:30AM and I have only glanced at my emails. Yeesh. But hey, it’s Friday! I’m basically on vacation! I’m almost halfway done my novel! Life is wonderful!

As always, thank you for reading and the support. You guys are the best!

Alessandra

Leave a Reply

