Only 20,000 More Words To Go!

50,000

It’s been a while. I was on family vacation from July 1st to July 9th. I didn’t do any writing during the entire trip. I brought my laptop because I intended to write one or two nights while on vacation but I enjoyed myself too much. Woot woot!

Last week I did minimal writing. I decided to trade in my crap 2016 Ford Escape for a wonderful 2012 Toyota Corolla. Some of you might think I’m crazy but it was actually a great deal. My Ford had about 23,000 miles (only one year old) and the Toyota had about 32,000 miles (five years old). I’m also back in a manual instead of an automatic. Yay! 🙂 I now have a sunroof and heated side mirrors; both of which I did not have in my Ford. Long story short, I freakin’ LOVE my new (old) car. I’m glad to be back in a Corolla and I will never purchase a Ford again. Unless it’s a truck because I’ll admit they do make good trucks.

Anyway, last week (10th – 14th) I had to spend a lot of time going to the dealership, test driving and talking to the sales/financing people. Also, I live in NH but the car was in MA. MA doesn’t do temporary plates but they also can’t register a car for a NH residence. So I spent Monday and Tuesday evening in MA after work and then they drove the car up Thursday so I could register it in NH. Also Thursday was packed with the webinar, driving out to MA to look at an apartment and volleyball that evening. What I’m trying to say is I didn’t have a lot of free time to meet my 3,000 word a day requirement last week.

BUT as of last night I am now at 50,000 words. Only 20,000 words away from my goal! If I continue writing at my current rate, I will finish the novel before July 27th. As a reminder, July 27th is when I submit my query and sample pages to a literary agent for critiques since I signed up for her webinar this past July 13th. Obviously I’m hoping she’ll request the full manuscript which is why I want it completed by then. However, I’ll have a buffer because I most likely won’t get the critique back until around September 27th which means I’ll be able to use the 60 days to proof read, make revisions, etc.

Admittedly, it was rough getting back into the swing of things. I was churning out 3,000-4,000 words a day before July 1st then abruptly stopped writing when I went on vacation. Trying to get back into the swing of things was hard. I would have to push myself mentally to sit down and write. Once I started writing, though, it was easy. My problem is more “Sit down to write” rather than the actual writing. Especially because lately I just want to snuggle in bed and watch a movie after a crap day at work.

However, I haven’t let my personal wants or desires overrun my goal. I’m still writing daily and like I said, if I keep it going at my current rate, I’ll finish before July 27th. Maybe a day or two before but I still think that’s cool! That’s also if I finish my story at exactly70,000 words which is not gonna happen. But that’s okay. Young Adult books are 65,000-80,000 range so as long as I fall somewhere in between that, I’m happy!

So that’s that. I’m almost done my goal. And I bought a new car! Yay! Life has been good this month. Thank you for reading and the support!

Alessandra

Leave a Reply

