I FINISHED!

I FINISHED MY NOVEL!

It came in at 67,166 words so I didn’t meet my goal of 70,000 words but this is just the first draft. I know during my edit, I’ll have to add a lot of explanations and feelings to scenes since I didn’t spend a lot of time doing that originally. I was so focused on getting the base of the novel done, I left out a lot of detail. So that’s what I’m going to do today after work. Straight to Staples! I’ll print out my manuscript and get right on it!

This is so exciting. I am so pumped right now. I can’t believe I met my deadline! I wrote an entire novel within the span of a month. Boo. Ya. You go girl! I wish I was editing right now. Grrrr.

Oh man let me vent for just a minute. Did you know that Yahoo Mail, Google Mail, any type of mail other than Microsoft Outlook (the business one, mind you, not the free one you can download on the internet) will NOT allow you to double space your freakin’ email? How flippin’ stupid is that?! I kid you not, I spent 30-45 minutes last night trying to double space my first 5 pages. I googled it, I tried YouTubing it, I tried everything. Every answer I got was “You can’t do it.” “Doesn’t matter if you double space it in Word/Pages, if you copy and paste, it’s going to revert back to single space.” Like. What. The. Frick.

I stressed out so much last night about the stupid double spacing that I didn’t even really get to enjoy the fact that I finished my novel. 😦 Not until my friend texted me, congratulated me for finishing it and then sent me a picture of her with a wine bottle telling me she was super proud of me and celebrating my accomplishment. Then I was like “Hold up! Where’s my drink?” Then I promptly went and made myself one before going straight to bed. Ha ha. But still. I’m mad about this. Why the hell can’t you double space your text?! “It’s obsolete” one person had explained on the internet. To which another person said “No it isn’t! Literary agents and professors require you to double space in the body of email. It is a useful tool that we still need!”

Ugh. So I said “To hell with it! I can’t be the only person having this problem!” And I sent my query for critique WITHOUT double spacing it. Now some of you might say “Why didn’t you just double space it yourself manually?” BECAUSE THAT DOESN’T FREAKIN’ WORK! Double spacing manually depends on how the viewer sees it. So I may copy my first 5 pages, then go through the painfully tedious task of double spacing what I think looks like the perfect double space, send off the email and the literary agents views it and the text is all wonky. I’ll show you what I mean by wonky. Just look below.

Ugh. So I said “To hell with it! I can’t be the only person having this problem!” And I sent my query for

critique WITHOUT double spacing it. Now some of you might say “Why didn’t you just double space it

yourself manually?” BECAUSE THAT DOESN’T FREAKIN’ WORK! Double spacing manually depends on

how the viewer sees is. So I may copy my first 5 pages, then go through the painfully tedious task of

double spacing what I think looks like the perfect double space, send off the email and the literary

agents views it and the text is all wonky. I’ll show you what I mean by wonky.

^ That above paragraph IS double spaced in Microsoft Word but look how funky it looks here! That’s what I mean by not being able to manually double space it. Unless the literary agent is viewing it exactly the same way I viewed it when I double spaced, it’s going to look weird to her. SO. FRUSTRATING.

As you can see, I’m still a little bent out of shape over this. I hope the agent doesn’t use the single spacing against me. I really researched to see if there was a way to do double space. I really tried my hardest to make it work and it just didn’t. So forgive me!

Anyway, this is distracting us from the main point of this blog and that is I FINISHED MY NOVEL! I’m super proud of myself for 1. Setting a goal, 2. Sticking to my timeline and requirements, and 3. Meeting my goal. I’ve never done that. Haven’t been much of a goal person; I always found them super annoying and pointless. So it’s pretty amazing I did this.

On that note, thank you guys for reading and giving support! ❤ You’re the best!

Alessandra

Leave a Reply

